Frontiers in Intense Laser-Matter Interaction Theory

Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics (MPQ)
September 19-21, 2012


Welcome to „Frontiers in Intense Laser-Matter Interaction Theory“, a workshop devoted to topical challenges posed to theory by the application of strong and superstrong laser sources. It will be focused around the following three general areas:


Fundamentals of high-field electrodynamics: radiation reaction in the context of high-intensity laser experiments, both, in classical and QED descriptions, their experimental signatures and applications.


Strong fields and ultrafast processes in atoms, molecule, and solids: field-induced internal dynamics, time-delays in photo-emission, photo-electron spectra, band structure and electronic dynamics in bias fields, plasmonic enhancement in photo-emission and high harmonic generation.


Laser-based secondary sources: X-rays and coherent XUV radiation from solid surfaces and ultra-thin foils, relativistic mirrors, GeV particle beams, laser-driven FELs.


This workshop is part of the scientific activity of the programme "Super-intense Laser-matter Interactions" SILMI of the European Science Foundation.

It is intended to serve as a forum for communicating the most urgent questions from experiment to theory and in turn for highlighting new physics that will come into experimental reach in the near future. It will be hosted by the Munich Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics with additional support from the Munich-Centre for Advanced Photonics MAP.



International program committee: Charles J. Joachain (Belgium), Dimitri Batani (Italy), Klaus Boller (Netherlands), Joachim Burgdörfer (Austria), Helder Crespo (Portugal), Viorica Florescu (Romania), Jan Petter Hansen (Norway), Javier Honrubia (Spain), Ursula Keller (ETH Zurich/Switzerland), Marco Kirm (Estonia), Jiri Limpouch (Czech Republic), Lars Bojer Madsen (Denmark), J. Tito Mendonça (Portugal), Algis Piskarskas (Lithuania), Rainer Salomaa (Finland), Claes-Göran Wahlström (Sweden), Jerzy Wolowski (Poland), Arie Zigler (Israel)

Organizing committee: A. Scrinzi and H. Ruhl (Chairs), E. Goulielmakis, J. Meyer-ter-Vehn, M. Kling,
F. Krausz, T. Tajima, V. Yakovlev